Coverart for item
The Resource Soul, self, and society : the new morality and the modern state, Edward L. Rubin

Soul, self, and society : the new morality and the modern state, Edward L. Rubin

Label
Soul, self, and society : the new morality and the modern state
Title
Soul, self, and society
Title remainder
the new morality and the modern state
Statement of responsibility
Edward L. Rubin
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity"--
  • "Morality is not declining in the modern world. Instead, a new morality is replacing the previous one. Centered on individual self-fulfillment, and linked to administrative government, it permits things the old morality forbid, like sex for pleasure, but forbids things the old morality allowed, like intolerance and equality of opportunity"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1948-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rubin, Edward L.
Index
index present
LC call number
JA79
LC item number
.R76 2015
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • State, The
  • Political ethics
  • Conduct of life
  • Social ethics
  • Christian ethics
  • POLITICAL SCIENCE / Public Affairs & Administration
  • LAW / Ethics & Professional Responsibility
  • HISTORY / Modern / General
  • Christian ethics
  • Conduct of life
  • Political ethics
  • Social ethics
  • State, The
Label
Soul, self, and society : the new morality and the modern state, Edward L. Rubin
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and indexes
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The Morality of Honor -- The Morality of Higher Purposes -- The Morality of Self-Fulfillment -- The Morality of the Self -- The Morality of Intimate and Personal Relations -- The Morality of Relations with Society -- Conclusion: The Future of Christianity
Control code
893316937
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
xi, 464 pages
Isbn
9780199348657
Lccn
2014021186
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
40024744356
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)893316937
Label
Soul, self, and society : the new morality and the modern state, Edward L. Rubin
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and indexes
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The Morality of Honor -- The Morality of Higher Purposes -- The Morality of Self-Fulfillment -- The Morality of the Self -- The Morality of Intimate and Personal Relations -- The Morality of Relations with Society -- Conclusion: The Future of Christianity
Control code
893316937
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
xi, 464 pages
Isbn
9780199348657
Lccn
2014021186
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
40024744356
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)893316937

Library Locations

    • Copley LibraryBorrow it
      5998 Alcalá Park, San Diego, CA, 92110-2492, US
      32.771354 -117.193327
Processing Feedback ...