Coverart for item
The Resource The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine

The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine

Label
The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
Title
The House of Government
Title remainder
a saga of the Russian Revolution
Statement of responsibility
Yuri Slezkine
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher
Member of
Biography type
contains biographical information
Cataloging source
N$T
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Slezkine, Yuri
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
  • Dom na Naberezhnoĭ (Moscow, Russia)
  • Sovetskaja Associacija Meždunarodnogo Prava
  • Moscow (Russia)
  • Communists
  • Apartment dwellers
  • Victims of state-sponsored terrorism
  • Moscow (Russia)
  • Apartment houses
  • Moscow (Russia)
  • Political purges
  • State-sponsored terrorism
  • Soviet Union
  • HISTORY
  • HISTORY
  • HISTORY
  • POLITICAL SCIENCE
  • HISTORY
  • HISTORY
  • Apartment dwellers
  • Apartment houses
  • Buildings
  • Communists
  • Political purges
  • Politics and government
  • State-sponsored terrorism
  • Victims of state-sponsored terrorism
  • Russia (Federation)
  • Soviet Union
  • Apartmenthaus
  • Bewohner
  • Kommunist
  • Elite
  • Privileg
  • Stalinismus
  • Politische Verfolgung
  • Dom na naberežnoj
  • Soviet Union
  • Moscow (Russia)
  • Moscow (Russia)
  • Moscow (Russia)
Label
The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 995-1081) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Book one. En route -- Part I. Anticipation -- The swamp -- The preachers -- The faith -- Part II. Fulfillment -- The real day -- The last battle -- The new city -- The great disappointment -- The party line -- Book two. At home -- Part III. The second coming -- The eternal house -- The new tenants -- The economic foundations -- The virgin lands -- The ideological substance -- Part IV. The reign of the saints -- The new life -- The days off -- The houses of rest -- The next of kin -- The center of the world -- The pettiness of existence -- The thought of death -- The happy childhood -- The new men -- Book three. On trial -- Part V. The last judgment -- The telephone call -- The admission of guilt -- The valley of the dead -- The knock on the door -- The good people -- The supreme penalty -- Part VI. The afterlife -- The end of childhood -- The persistence of happiness -- The coming of war -- The return -- The end -- Epilogue: The House on the Embankment -- Appendix: Partial list of leaseholders
Control code
ocn994221038
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (xv, 1104 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780691192727
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Note
JSTOR
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 22573/ctvc5zt3q
  • 0f29490e-3a84-4bad-87bd-82280083b2b5
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)994221038
Label
The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution, Yuri Slezkine
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 995-1081) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Book one. En route -- Part I. Anticipation -- The swamp -- The preachers -- The faith -- Part II. Fulfillment -- The real day -- The last battle -- The new city -- The great disappointment -- The party line -- Book two. At home -- Part III. The second coming -- The eternal house -- The new tenants -- The economic foundations -- The virgin lands -- The ideological substance -- Part IV. The reign of the saints -- The new life -- The days off -- The houses of rest -- The next of kin -- The center of the world -- The pettiness of existence -- The thought of death -- The happy childhood -- The new men -- Book three. On trial -- Part V. The last judgment -- The telephone call -- The admission of guilt -- The valley of the dead -- The knock on the door -- The good people -- The supreme penalty -- Part VI. The afterlife -- The end of childhood -- The persistence of happiness -- The coming of war -- The return -- The end -- Epilogue: The House on the Embankment -- Appendix: Partial list of leaseholders
Control code
ocn994221038
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (xv, 1104 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780691192727
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Note
JSTOR
Other physical details
illustrations, maps
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
  • 22573/ctvc5zt3q
  • 0f29490e-3a84-4bad-87bd-82280083b2b5
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)994221038

Library Locations

    • Copley LibraryBorrow it
      5998 Alcalá Park, San Diego, CA, 92110-2492, US
      32.771354 -117.193327
Processing Feedback ...